Share Your World – 2016 Week 1

041514-sywbanner

Since Cee will be posting the questions for week 2 of Share Your World tomorrow, I better answer the ones from week 1 before it’s too late. If you’d like to join in, check out  post. It’s a great place to learn all kinds of interesting things about the people who participate in this weekly event.

Here are the questions for week 1:

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

There are really two. My maternal grandmother and my sister, Cindy. But I’ll go with my sister, since I had less time with her than I did with my grandmother. I was older than Cindy by two years, and from the time I can remember, we shared a bedroom, right up until I went to college. She and I shared lots of cool things during our growing up years, and we spoke often during that year I was in college, but she was killed in a car accident at the end of my freshman year. She and I both kept diaries through junior high and high school, and we had a pact to grab the other’s diary if something happened. I have hers, and I often wonder what her life would be like if she were still here.

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

I’d like to be some kind of climbing ivy, so I could spread out and see all different parts of my surroundings.

What would be your preference, awake before dawn or awake before noon?

It’s more like at dawn. I don’t always make it, but most of the time, it works out.

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?

I’m assuming that the burrowed spot isn’t crawling with all kind of underground creatures. I am a big fan of building a burrow to sleep in. Bury me in blankets and stuff, so the burrowed spot appeals. But if the creepy critters are part of the deal, I’d take the nest. But I’d need a couple of blankets.  😉

*****

Thanks Cee for coming up with interesting questions and hosting this group each week. I am hoping to head over here more often in 2016.  🙂

17 comments on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 1

    • Thanks, Patti. I appreciate it. I am going to attempt to stay with Share Your World. You never know what’s going to come out when you start answering the questions. I like the surprise element of it. 🙂

      • My favorites are the ones that don’t make you think, and then something just pops out while you’re writing and takes you in a direction you’d never have imagined. I’m so glad Cee keeps it going. 🙂

  1. I grieve with you for the loss of your sister. I imagine that’s a hurt that never goes away.

    I’m often up at dawn, but because I stayed up all night. In those cases, waking me before noon is unlikely to be successful!

    I’m with you on the underground nest. I’ve been spelunking more than a few times, and cavern diving, too. But heights are not for me!

    Perhaps ironcally, in my Trueborn series, the Tacivaarii often build bowers in trees and curl into them to sleep,

    I loved getting to know you better this way! =)

  2. The last question sounds like whether you’d like to live like an elf up in a tree or like a hobbit in a hole in the ground (Tolkien’s Middle Earth ref.)! Hobbit all the way! A hobbit’s Smial is comfortable with “good food, a warm hearth, and all the comforts of home.” 😉
    Sorry to hear about your sister. 😦

  3. I am sorry about your sister—sometimes I find it almost overwhelming how folks have suffered such tragedies in their lives, and how impressed I am with their ability to handle it. I thought these questions were interesting too—give me the nest any day!

    • Thanks, Ellen. I’m actually impressed with how my parents have handled it. Because it was actually the second time they had to bury a child. I had another sister who was born about a year after I was, and she died at six weeks of age. As I’ve gotten older, and have had children and grandchildren of my own, I just cannot fathom how they got through as well as they did. Sure there were problems and difficulties, but they have always been an inspiration to me.

      I’d take the nest if I had plenty of burrowing material. 😉

  4. I’m so sorry about your sister. I’m sorry for your parents as well. My son died from leukemia and it’s just an impossible thing.

    Your answers were interesting. I would definitely take the nest. No way would I be on the ground, let alone under it. 🙂 Dawn for sure…we could have coffee:) I’d be a tree and invite birds and squirrels to live in my branches and fairies too, of course.

    • I’m sorry about your son. One of my good friends lost her son to leukemia several years ago. What I have always NOT understood is that people seem to think that after x amount of time has passed, that it’s like other deaths. But it’s not. No one ever expects to lose a child. And that pain never leaves. I “only” lost my sister, and six months after her death, someone told me I need to get over it.

      Coffee at dawn and fairies in the tree–sounds good to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

