Weekend Coffee Share: A New Semester

weekendcoffeeshare

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I can’t spend as much time as usual because I still have a few things to finish up for the start-up of my classes this week. I’m teaching Intro to Criminal Justice again (two sections) and a combination online/in-person (hybrid) Intro to Sociology course. This is my first hybrid course, and I just completed the training for it about ten days before Christmas. I’m looking forward to classes, but as always, I wouldn’t mind having a little more time before things started up. But I guess that’s always the way. But I’m going to head to a near-by coffee shop (3 1/2 miles away)Β  πŸ˜‰ to gather my focus.

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I got my sewing machine set up this morning. Dave was so great about packing it up securely so that I could bring it back with me and not have to wait until he arrives in February. I’d also tell you that I think I’ve practiced the basic machine quilting enough while I was in Iowa that I can move onto the actual quilt, hopefully tomorrow.

Dave in Iowa 229

If we were having coffee,

I’d tell you that I finished all the revisions and the report to the reviewers for the co-authored article only to find out that my co-author confused the deadline with one of his other deadlines. We have effectively missed the deadline. He thought it was tomorrow, but it was actually last Tuesday. If we’ve lost the chance to get it published with them, I will start targeting other journals to submit it to, but it was a big disappointment.

Still, I’m still feeling very good about the direction life has been taking over the past few days, and I’m looking forward to the coming weeks.

Β If you’d like to join in and have coffee or tea and see what everyone else has been up to this week, you can head over to Diana’s page for the details and the Linky to lots of people who are making the weekly coffee share part of their weekends.

*****

This post is also part of JusJoJan, Day 10. Another great place to connect with other bloggers.

jjj-2016

19 comments on “Weekend Coffee Share: A New Semester

  1. Bummer about the deadline. Isn’t that the worst? I hate it when I confuse dates, especially when no one catches it and I disappoint someone. Honestly, I get anxiety about it, and my erring on the side of caution makes me appear less than stable. lol
    I’m glad you’ve got the sewing machine out. This snow on our ground has me thrilled to stay in. I foresee some lap quilting this evening. And Downton. Heh. What a happy day.
    *raises coffee* To a Happy Day, Deborah! πŸ™‚

  2. I tried to not let him know I was disappointed and that we would just work it out. But with the other things I had going on, it would have been great not to be spending so much time the last few days on something that was already past-due. πŸ˜‰
    I wasn’t smart enough to stay in, but I’m getting my course prep done. Which is a good thing. It’s cheery to be around other coffee drinkers. That’s what I like about the weekend coffee share.
    And speaking of happy day, have fun with the lap quilting. That’s awesome!

  3. Good luck with the courses! I had mixed feelings about teaching, but my favorite classes were the hybrid online/lecture courses that allowed us to use lots of ways to get our subjects across. Hope you have an excellent semester in the courses!

    • Teaching is the only reason I pushed myself through grad school. I really do enjoy it. It has its frustrations, of course, but there are enough sparks of life that I find it worthwhile. Sometimes, I just need to be reminded on those not so good days. πŸ˜‰

  4. Sorry about the missed article deadline, that is disappointing, but surely you will find another journal to accept the work. I’m interested to see what you think of teaching that hybrid class. I’ve long suspected that type setup would be the best of both worlds for the students, but it’s hard to imagine what it will be like for the professor! Here’s to a great start of semester!

    • I wonder if sometimes students overestimate the level of self-motivation it takes to complete the work without the physical “check-in,” but we’ll see. I’m going to set it up so they can work ahead. That way if they start out motivated, they can breeze through at their pace instead of being forced to wait on the calendar. To me, that’s the main advantage as a professor, too. Letting students approach the material when they’re ready for it, rather than hoping against hope that everyone will be in a learning frame of mind on a specific schedule. πŸ™‚

  5. I’m thinking that hybrid classes might be perfect for unschooled kids, because they’ve had so much practice at that self-motivation thing. When one of my kids gets their jaws around a new fascination, they can devour it! It’s really inspiring.

    Coincidentally, my friend helped me with some of the threading of my sewing machine tonight. I’ve had it for half my son’s lifetime, and still don’t know how to thread it! But i’m one giant step closer, thanks to having a friend who actually enjoys reading manuals (they just tend to confuse me!).

    I hope your classes go well, and that you get to play with that quilt before you see this comment. Having a late-late night cuppa with you, in spirit, =)

    • It will be interesting about the hybrid class. I hope some of them are more motivated than the students in the traditional classes. When I used to teach piano, the unschooled students made steady progress, regardless of their innate aptitude, largely because they knew how to self-motivate. Interestingly, I offer incentives in my college classes to encourage self-motivation. And still, there isn’t much. I’m sure you’re not surprised.
      Glad you got your machine threaded. Do you have a project in mind? As for me, it’s going to be a few days now that classes are starting, but by the weekend for sure. πŸ™‚

      • My guess is that your unschooled students probably chose to be there – so they were willing to do what was necessary, because they were there for personal reasons.

        When my daughter was younger, she took a few dance and tumbling classes at our local Y. It was fairly easy to see the kids who were there because their parents had decided it would be a good idea for them to be there.

        Might be the same with piano, because lots of adults seem to think that making kids study piano – like it or not – is a good idea
        .
        The machine is mostly threaded. There’s a piece of re thread caught at the bottom, and my friend had to leave before she could clear it. I thought I’d ask my husband to take a look, if I can’t get it out of there.

        I thought I’d start with something simple, like making curtains for our bedroom. Eventually, though, I’d love to quilt – although that may wait until the kids are grown, or at least until we make our cross-country move to Oregon (hopefully in a year or two).

        I hope you enjoy your happy reunion with your machine!

      • I was fortunate in that the majority of the piano students wanted to do it, but they hadn’t learned the skills to push past the rough spots. I always required a six month commitment from the parents precisely for that reason. Without fail, if students could be helped past their first glitch where they wanted to give up, they were able to use that skill to make continued progress. There are very few places where people learn that skill anymore, so it was great to be able to contribute in that way.

        Good luck with your machine. Mine’s up, just no time until the weekend. Semester start-ups are tough, and then I’ve got the accreditation meeting tomorrow to coincide. Joy of joys! πŸ˜‰

        The Pacific Northwest is great! I lived in Seattle for ten years back in the 80s.

  6. My semester started last week and I feel like it’s already kicking my butt. And my sewing machien is still in my car. I have got to get sewing, but I don’t have the time with all this school work! AUGH.

Leave a Reply

