Right Writing: SofCS

Image courtesy of nuttakit / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of nuttakit / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I haven’t paid much attention to Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompts–only vaguely aware of them, but for some reason, this week, I wanted to check it out more. And I was intrigued. Didn’t want to actually write it as a blog post though. My blog isn’t for SofC. But then what is it for? Lately–meaning March–my blog has languished. I have lots of ideas, but no inner push to put myself out there. It’s not like I’m not writing–I am, but I’m not writing the things that I want to put in my blog.

Oh hell, that isn’t even true. I have three freewritings–much like this–about things in Taiwan that my “audience” says they want. I used the freewriting to demonstrate the process for my writing classes. But I didn’t take them farther yet. They are still in the list of drafts. There’s something wrong when the drafts are almost equal in number to published posts. Or perhaps I exaggerate. Perhaps I need to stop worrying about the right thing to write and just get back to writing. Was it only October when I was writing nearly every day? I signed up to do that challenge again in March, and talk about total fizzle. Now the ABC challenge is due to start, but I drag my feet.

Much like I dragged my feet on deciding to participate in this SofCS post. In fact, for me, it’s not even Saturday anymore, but I finally got to the point where I decided that I wasn’t going to worry about writing “right” or if this was the “right” thing to be writing, or even if I was doing any of my current writing “right,” I just needed to write. And here it is, in not so much glory, but in breaking through the silence of the non-writing that has been my blog lately. Maybe now the floodgates can open.

*******

This is a weekly feature of Linda Gill’s, and I’ve obviously finally taken the plunge.

 

http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-march-2914/

2 comments on “Right Writing: SofCS

  1. This is a wonderful post, Deborah. Just as I said in my prompt, it’s nice to see bloggers ‘speak,’ just as though they’re sitting across the table. It’s kind of freeing, isn’t it?
    Thanks so much for joining in! 😀

Leave a Reply

