My New Grandson: Meet Jack!

JackYesterday, I had the awe-inspiring privilege to meet Jack, the first child of my son Tom and his wife Megan. We’ve been waiting (almost) patiently for Jack since his due date on August 28. But he had other ideas. When Tom called me shortly after midnight on Friday morning, I was so excited that I forgot to ask whether Jack had made his entrance on Thursday or Friday. (It could be that in spite of my excitement, I was a little groggy from being awakened.)  🙂 Anyway, it turned out he arrived late Thursday evening, with a birthday of September 3.

Jack weighed in at 8 lbs., 10 oz. and is 21 1/4″ long. He was definitely worth the wait! While I accept the fact that I may be a “bit” prejudiced, it was the second picture Tom sent me that moved me to tears. I cannot believe how absolutely beautiful this baby is.

Jack2

Yesterday, my parents (the great-grandparents) and I went to Ann Arbor to visit Tom and Megan and to meet this precious little one for the first time. I have never been close enough to hold a grandchild in the first days of life before, and holding Jack so early in his life was one of the most moving experiences of my life! I can’t wait to watch this little guy and his parents as they start out on their journey as a family. ❤

Visit with Jack 001Visit with Jack 002

29 comments on “My New Grandson: Meet Jack!

  1. Pingback: If we were having coffee: Wet Bank Holidays, Triffids, and Newbie fun! | willowdot21

    • Me, too, Emmely! I was in Taiwan when the last one was born. He was five months old when I held him for the first time! Still an awesome experience, but there’s just something about newborns. 🙂

  2. Pingback: A New Gauge for Depression | Container Chronicles

  3. Welcome to the world, Jack – you’re in for a heck of a ride!

    My ‘J’ boy, Jeremiah, was due on August 13. He kept us waiting, too – and celebrated his fourteenth birthday on September 2. It’s a good time to be born, early September!

    So happy you got to hold him while he’s still new. I have such a connection to the babies I’ve held at the very beginnings of their lives!

    • I never really thought about that connection thing, but that makes a lot of sense. Of course with my other grandson, I only saw him once a year for the first three years, and now that I see him more often, we aren’t that connected, but we’re working on it. But yes, I do like the fact I held Jack within a couple days of his birth. I’m looking forward to a return visit soon. 🙂

  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee: Embracing October | Container Chronicles

Leave a Reply

